F-M, J-D boys roll to indoor track league titles

Hornets claim American division; Red Rams rule Freedom division

— J-D, in an OHSL Freedom meet where East Syracuse-Minoa (57 points) took fourth place, got plenty from Zach Liebmann, who cleared 12'6" to beat Spartans teammates Corey Vollmer (second, 11'6") and Caiden Moynahan (third, 10') in the pole vault, and also won the 300-meter dash in 37.61 seconds, with teammate Jaysen Ramos in fifth place.

Liebmann also helped Ramos, Mike Montanez and Austin Phileo claim the 4x400 relay in 3:42.92 as ESM was fifth. J-D went 1-2 in the 55 hurdles, where Nate Sturgeon won in 8.55 seconds and Jordan Franklin (8.92 seconds) took the runner-up spot. Sturgeon also was fourth in the long jump.

J-D and ESM dueled in the 4x800, where Samuel Dye, Isaac Tupper, Tom Iandolo and Will Hohreiter prevailed in 9:05.83 and the Spartans' quartet of Nick Schug, Jesse Perrone, Logan Grihin and Joe Coogan were second in 9:11.22. Sturgeon, teamed with Montanez, Jaquan Tearney and Taumeras Howard, won the 4x200 in 1:37.44, with ESM (1:45.19) again in fifth.

Howard got his own win in the high jump, clearing 5'10" with Tearney in third place, and Howard also was second in the 55 sprint in 6.90 seconds, inches behind Fowler's Delee Williams (6.88 seconds) as Franklin (6.96 seconds) was third.

Dye was second in the 1,000 in 2:50.95 as teammate Jack Healy was fifth. Hohreiter made his way to second in the mile in 4:40.47, with ESM's Jesse Perrone fifth. Tupper was third in the 3,200, where the Spartans' Matt Young was fifth. Will Cote took second (38'8 1/2") in the triple jump.

The Spartans did prevail in the 600, where Joe Coogan won in 1:31.20 as his teammate, Jake Barker, was fourth, ahead of Phileo (fifth) and Iandolo (sixth). Tom Grayer was second in the long jump, going 20' 1/4", with teammate Jeremy McGrath fifth. J-D's Davis Elmore was third in the shot put (41'10 1/2"), with Brian Roth (40'7 1/4") fourth.

CBA finished with 39 points for fifth place in the OHSL Liberty/Patriot division meet. David Carey won the 3,200 in a time of 10:17.82, nearly seven seconds ahead of the field, while Zach Zajdel, Jack Brower, Liam Price and Matt Stedman won the 4x400, edging Skaneateles, 3:39.74 to 3:40.63.

Jack Lenkiewicz claimed fourth place in the mile in 4:53.78. Zajdel took fourth in the 55 hurdles, while Price was fourth in the 55 hurdles and Brower earned fifth place in the 600 before running a leg in the 4x800, where the Brothers again were fourth.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment