Tease photo

Don’t be fooled by non-approved Career & Technical Education programming

In recent years, many Central New York school districts and BOCES have answered the call and created CTE opportunities for their students.

Tease photo

Transforming health care

CNY doctors learn about treating transgender youth

Many people experience anxiety before a visit to the doctor, but for transgender youth, that anxiety is amplified. There are few providers in Central New York who cater specifically to transgender populations, and some trans people have reported being harassed or turned away from seeking care.

Best college prep? Unplug and read

Parents of high school students often inquire what they can do to help their children prepare for college. They consider AP classes, sports, even SAT prep work as the silver bullet. My two suggestions surprise most.

Tease photo

Ten girls’ lacrosse athletes at CBA sign Division I collegiate letters of intent

Christian Brothers Academy has announced that 10 student-athletes, all girls’ lacrosse players, have signed letters of intent to continue their intercollegiate athletic careers at Division I institutions next year.

Tease photo

O’Keefe addresses DeWitt Rotary

Recently, Rotarian Mel Rubenstein introduced University Professor Sean O’Keefe at a Monday luncheon of the DeWitt Rotary. O’Keefe spoke about the concept of a new medical school in Syracuse.

ESM School district among STEM Ecosystem Leaders at national meeting in Washington D.C.

East Syracuse Minoa Central School District educators and business partners were among the leaders from 27 STEM networks who gathered in Washington, D.C. Nov. 10 and 11 to initiate a national dialogue and exchange strategies for building real-world Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) learning opportunities.

Tease photo

Five JD athletes sign letters of intent

Five Jamesville-DeWitt High School seniors signed their respective college letters of intent during a ceremony last Thursday at the J-D Hall of Fame Atrium.

Spartan Stage to Perform ‘The Diary of Anne Frank’

The ESM Spartan Stage will perform “The Diary of Anne Frank” on Thurs., Nov. 19 and Fri., Nov. 20 at 7 p.m. each night in the ESM Central High School auditorium. Tickets are $9 each.

Tease photo

Fayetteville DPW will hold open house on renovated garage Oct. 24

Have you ever been curious about the trucks that pick up leaves, repair roads and plow snow throughout the year in your local community?

Tease photo

Manlius Library celebrates 100 years

Celebration of centennial included unveiling of new teen room, gallery

The Manlius Library recently celebrated 100 years of service to the community with a celebration on Oct. 17, which included an unveiling of a new teen room and the addition of an 18-piece Audubon gallery.

Tease photo

MPH Board promotes Interim Leader Dunaway to be the New Head of School

The board of trustees at Manlius Pebble Hill School has appointed James Dunaway to serve as head of school on a permanent basis. Dunaway has led MPH on an interim basis since February.

ESM to pilot national STEM learning initiative

Initiative Kicks off at White House in November 

The East Syracuse Minoa Central School District (ESM), in collaboration with several Syracuse area businesses, higher education institutions and other partners, is among 27 "ecosystems" created across the United States and selected to pilot the national STEM Ecosystems Initiative.

Tease photo

The Big Sleep: Local schools begin to investigate later start time

Some 86 percent of the nation’s high schools start before 8:30 a.m. That means that during the winter months, the majority of U.S. high schoolers head to school while it’s still dark outside. They’re getting up in the predawn hours to get ready, and most are doing it after getting much less than the recommended eight to nine hours of sleep.

Three Bishop Grimes community members to be awarded at annual dinner

Bishop Grimes will hosting their annual dinner/auction, “A Night under the Stars” at 6 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 24. In addition to this year’s event, the school has announced they will be recognizing Bishop Grimes community members at the event, including Barb Pfefferle, General Thomas P. Kane and Danielle Cummings.

Column: A differentiating college essay

It is time for students to tackle the universally dreaded college essay. With more colleges, particularly the most competitive institutions, deciding among students who have near perfect qualifications, the college essay is increasingly important for admission. This is particularly true for the B and C student. A strong, differentiating college essay may be the deciding factor.